Doo Joon and Fat-Shaming

One thing I’ve noticed in my near 4 years of being in the kpop world is that weight seems to be a huge thing in Korea. In my opinion the Korean media shows weight in light that screams “skinny = happy and socially accepted”. In my opinion, this is just plain poisonous. I single-handedly brought my younger cousin into the kpop world. She is very beautiful, but she’s not exactly lean and definitely not Korea skinny. She’s young and very self-conscious. I love kpop, but I can’t help myself but feel bad that I introduced her to it. Right now, all she knows is the music thank god. She doesn’t know all the scandals and just hurtful things behind it.

Anyway, back to what the title says. I might be a little late, but the other day I decided I wanted to look up some Beast variety shows because they were my introduction to kpop and now I’m really starting to feel detached from them. All was fine and dandy until I came upon a certain video. It was a Guerilla Date episode from waaaaay back. At around the 3:35 mark the PD brings up an (and I’m being blunt not rude) overweight lady for Doo Joon to piggyback. Upon seeing the girl Doo Joon turn to the side and sticks out his tongue to the camera mocking her weight.

Yes, she was overweight (she even said it herself), but was it REALLY necessary to embarrass her like that? She came as your fan out in the street at night surrounded by a crowd of other people and this is how you treat her? What kind of idol treats a fan like that? That just angered me so much. I mean yeah sure you’re famous and you have talent or whatever, but would you have any of that fame and recognition if it weren’t for the fans? How dare you sit there and treat your fan, who mind you has come from another country to yours, like some kind of mockery? That’s not even the point that upsets me the most. I can imagine myself in this girl’s position. I’d wait forever and ever for the show to come out with English subtitles so I could see myself and oppa together. I’d be watching it and when the 3:35 mark came up I’d be utterly ashamed and discouraged. How could someone who I spent so much time and effort on treat me like that? Someone who I always hoped and prayed would always be happy and prosperous in life. I never fancied Doo Joon, nor did I dislike him. However, now there’s no hope for him with me. Sure I will support BEAST. But from now on I will always feel a hurt when I see Doo Joon. Call me stupid, I mean it’s a hurt that’s not even mine, but I’m a very emotional person and I can’t help feel super upset for that girl.

And just as I disclaimer; I love kpop. It makes me happy and keeps me going. But it’s definitely not perfect. I’m fine with that, but that doesn’t mean I want to extend it with my loved ones.

Just keep swimming until next time.

~Ducky V

2 thoughts on “Doo Joon and Fat-Shaming

  1. The sad reality is that in South Korea and many Asian countries talking about ones weight is okay and body shaming is okay too. It’s a mentality that is very accepted and given little to no thought in those countries. In other countries such as the United States for example, that type of thing is rude and down right evil. I’m sure there are things in America that are perfectly acceptable there are a huge taboo there and should never be done. However this from the stateds or other countries wouldn’t see it that way and just shrug it off. It’s hard for us as outsiders to try to accept things like body shaming or such due to it’s negative stigma that we were taught from it, however there they were never really taught how rude it can be to others and learned to be okay with it and the one they body shame may feel offended inside but they too learn to accept the truth and move on. It’s a whole different culture so we should only look at the positives. I’m glad you still love kpop despite the setbacks they might have your way 🙂

    • I understand that. However the “learn to accept it and move on” part, I’m not so sure. One cultural difference between the US and SK is wearing short clothing (skirts and pants) is 100% okay. Over here, a girl will regularly get called a whore or slut just for wearing those clothings. Just because this is a standard we grew up with here in America, doesn’t mean it’s not wrong. But even if this is a part of SK’s culture and DooJoon doesn’t know any better, couldn’t he hold back a little when commenting on a “beloved” fan?
      There are so, so many positives to the Korean culture. You are right, and I should definitely focus a little bit more on the positives. On the other hand, I cannot turn the other cheek at the negatives.

      Thank you for commenting! I’m you shared your opinion with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

